The Western Isles, also known as the Outer Hebrides, are a chain of islands off the west coast of Scotland. The islands are situated in the Atlantic Ocean and are divided into two groups: the Inner Hebrides and the Outer Hebrides. The Outer Hebrides are a collection of islands stretching over 130 miles, from Lewis in the north to Barra in the south.